Community Shield Tickets 2016 Community Shield Tickets & Football Event News

FA Community Shield 2011

The current Community Shield holders are Manchester United, who beat the 2009–10 season Double winners Chelsea 3–1 in the 2010 Community Shield held on August 8, 2010.

The Football Association Community Shield, formerly the Charity Shield, is a one-off annual English club association football match. The Community Shield fixture is the traditional curtain-raiser for the new season of English top flight football. The match is usually contested by the winner’s of the Premier League and the FA Cup – two of the biggest club competitions in the world

The match is held at the national football stadium, Wembley Stadium in London. It is played as a season opening game between the previous season’s league – cup winners (or the league runners up if the league champions won The Double of league and cup).

The winners of the game receive the Ciommunity Shield as a trophy for the year, while players also receive individual winners medals.

Organised by the Football Association, proceeds from the game are distributed to community-based initiatives and charities around the country.

Revenue from the gate receipts and match programme sales is distributed to the 124 clubs who competed in The FA Cup from the First Round onwards, for onward distribution to charities and projects of their choice, while the remainder is distributed to the FA’s national charity partners.

Man U has the most wins, followed by Liverpool. The most successful teams are Manchester United (14 outright wins, 4 shared), Liverpool (10 outright wins, 5 shared), Arsenal (11 outright wins, 1 shared) and Everton (8 outright wins, 1 shared).

2000 Chelsea 2 – 0 Manchester United
2001 Liverpool 2 – 1 Manchester United
2002 Arsenal 1 – 0 Liverpool
2003 Manchester United 4–3 on penalties Arsenal
2004 Arsenal 3 – 1 Manchester United
2005 Chelsea 2 – 1 Arsenal
2006 Liverpool 2 – 1 Chelsea
2007 Manchester United 1 – 1 Manchester United won 3–0 on penalties Chelsea
2008 Manchester United 0 – 0 Manchester United won 3–1 on penalties Portsmouth
2009 Chelsea 2 – 2 Chelsea won 4–1 on penalties Manchester United
2010 Manchester United 3 – 1 Chelsea

Plan ahead and purchase your Community Shield Tickets and Community Shield 2011 Tickets now.